Posted by: thekingfamilyinRwanda | June 27, 2016

Forced Rest

I had a little enforced rest this weekend:

First, for the first time in several years, I was laid up with a stomach illness, likely a virus, that left me wiped out. I was supposed to preach on Sunday at a local high school, but that was out of the question. Ironically, the topic I had chosen was “Come to me all you who are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28. Caleb, fortunately, preached in my stead. I lay in bed and slept, and read a little, and slept more. I am usually not a late sleeper, but I managed to sleep about 14 hours. I gained a certain amount of empathy for my patients!

Secondly, my phone broke, at least partially. The screen seems to function somewhat autonomously, calling numbers, deleting emails, etc. at random. I noticed today that a nice tune was playing in the maternity ward; then I discovered it was from my phone in my pocket! Anyway, I discovered the best way to deal with it is to use it as little as possible, which has been difficult at times, but has freed me up to do other things.

At the end of the weekend, though, I felt rested and reassured-happy to know that the world keeps turning, even when I rest!

On the other hand, Sara and Moses were doing anything but resting. They, along with 4 others, took a long, hilly bike ride, over 2 days along the coast of Lake Kivu. Fortunately no one was hurt and Caleb had the foresight to arrange for a car to follow them along the way, with an extra bike, which they needed.

We don’t have a bike rack, so Moses stacked up the 7 bikes, pancake-style, which happened to be what I fixed them for breakfast before they left!

Bike tripThe kids are back safely, and I am back at work, hoping to keep that sense of rest and peace that passes all understanding in my heart and mind.

Leave a Reply

Categories

