Posted by: thekingfamilyinRwanda | May 5, 2014

Visiting Day

Yesterday we went to visit a couple of boys in the hospital. One was Sammy, whom I wrote about a couple of months ago. He looks a bit different, due to the medicine (prednisone) that he his taking. At this point he is on palliative care for his leukemia relapse, receiving transfusions as needed.

Moses visiting Sammy at the hospital

Moses visiting Sammy at the hospital

The other boy is Martin, who is 13 years old, and has tuberculosis in his spine. He can’t sit up or walk, though I have some hope he may regain some function in his legs. He doesn’t know how to read or write-a sign of his poverty. Moses brought them each one of his remote control cars, and they both seemed very pleased. We also prayed for them both, for healing.

Moses and Caleb with Martin

Moses and Caleb with Martin

The last picture is one I took for Harvard Medical School. They seem to be taking a “Flat Stanley” approach to alumni relations and they sent me that cardboard HMS sign, asking that I take a picture with it at my work, and send it in. I happened to have it in my bag after I did a training in the Emergency Department on the new triage system et le voilà!

Emergency Dept at Ruhengeri Hospital

Emergency Dept at Ruhengeri Hospital

Leave a Reply

Categories

