Posted by: thekingfamilyinRwanda | January 31, 2014

Musanze Update

Sorry I haven’t written in the blog in a while. I’ve been busy filling out financial aid forms for college for Sara and when I’m not filling them out, I’m worrying about them. I’m trying to hand this over to the Lord (though I guess He still expects me to fill out the forms!). Here is some news from Ruhengeri:

  1. New Beginnings: I have 2 New Year’s Resolutions. The first is a broad theme I am hoping for this year: Seeking God. I was inspired by a recent visitor, a non-Christian, who responded “I’m seeking,” when I asked him what his spiritual background was. As usual, I couldn’t think of anything to say! Of course LATER I thought of many scriptures that deal with seeking. One of the most famous ones is from Jeremiah 29:13: You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Another one I like is from the Psalms You, O Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you. I couldn’t resist those promises! I’m not sure what this will look like, but I have started a Beth Moore Bible Study (James) with some other women here and I am enjoying that a lot. I am also trying to be diligent in reading the Bible in one year, using the Holy Trinity Brompton commentary, which I recommend. So, please pray for me in this endeavor. The second resolution is not to use the internet on Sundays-it’s hard and I consider Skyping my parents on Sundays okay, but so far it has been quite free’ing. I try to spend more time with Lydia and Moses, write letters, cook, etc.

2. The Children’s choir is growing-they even have new uniforms. We are thankful for Chantale (see prior post) who is directing with the choir.

The Children's Choir

The Children’s Choir

3. The English service continues to grow-here is Caleb preaching on Stewardship. I am preaching this Sunday on God’s Creation and Our Response to It (we are using a new system of pre-assigned topics). It’s a good topic, but challenging. I am going to use Psalm 19 and John 1 and Louis Giglio-thanks, Louis!Please pray that is will be a Spirit filled sermon.

Caleb preaching

Caleb preaching 

4. Visitors We continue to have a lot of visitors-and were happy and honored to have Cal and Mimi Wilson on Saturday night with us and next month Caleb’s parents are coming, which is quite exciting. In addition, we’ve had lots of other nice and helpful visitors.

5. THE PIG. She belongs to Sarah Jane and I could not do the pig justice, so I will refer you to an excellent blog post from Sarah Jane. http://dehartdispatches.blogspot.com/2014/01/a-pig-and-her-girl.html

6. On a more serious note-a grenade went off in Ruhengeri/Musanze a couple of days ago. It seems to be an isolated incident. But please pray for the security of our area and all of Rwanda as we approach the 20th anniversary of the genocide

In peace I will lie down and sleep,
 for you alone, Lord,
make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4:8

Leave a Reply

Categories

