Posted by: thekingfamilyinRwanda | January 8, 2013

Images from Our Trip to the US

We had a great trip to the US-saw lots of friends and family.  Here are some photos-unfortunately I didn’t get everything, but this is a start:

We caught the tail end of Thanksgiving and enjoyed a lovely party for my dad’s 80th. Here is a picture of the Rambo grandchildren, minus Moses:

Image

Next, I took Sara and Hannah on a college tour and we had a great time with friends on the way. here are some pictures of Wheaton, Boston, and Wellesley.

DSC03429

DSC03440

DSC03447

We put up the biggest Christmas tree ever, with much difficulty (the kids and me-Caleb was still in Rwanda):DSC03457

Caleb came in time to be a godfather for my nephew Jacob who was baptized.  Lots of family came, including my Uncle Birch, who is one of my heroes-a career medical missionary in Zaire/Congo:

DSC03459

We enjoyed a warm day in December at the beach and enjoyed catching up with Pawley’s Island friends:

DSC03463

We visited with our special friends the Laings, who made yet another amazing meal and treated us like, well, Kings!

DSC03471

I got to see my 100 year old grandmother, still smiling!:

DSC03502

Time to say good-bye :(. Thanks to all who helped us,cooked for us, lent us cars, coats, and hats, and bought us groceries! Thank you, Lord, for the many blessings you give us and for keeping us safe!

Here are my parents and oldest brother William, just before we pulled out of the driveway:

 

 

 

DSC03500

Responses

  1. Great pictures. So good to be with you. Thanks for your encouragement and we look forward to hearing what God is doing in the King family in 2013.

  2. Thanks for sharing your journey with us. Praying for you as you get settled back in Rwanda. Have a Blessed New Year!!

    Linda

    • Thanks for the comment! We definitely are feeling that we left at least some of our heart at RVA!

  3. Thanks for sharing your pics! We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Ken Lowry

  4. Louise, would like to hear how we might work together to follow Team Hearts patients (cardiac surgery at King Faisal Hospital in Kigali living in your region. I am sorry I have not seen your blog before. A small group of us visited Shyira Hospital this week and I would like to talk to you about how we might connect. We just returned to US from our 6 th cardiac surgical trip, operating on teens and young adults suffering from rheumatic heart disease.

    Blessings to you and your family!

    • Ceeya, we are so grateful for Team Heart! We remember what it was like before the cardiac surgery teams came and one by one the children would die at home! I am at Ruhengeri Hospital now-more in a supervising position, but I refer patients whenever I can. I had an excellent nurse who helped me at Shyira but unfortunately she is no longer there. My phone number here is 0788836095. My email is louiserking@yahoo.com. Keep up the good work!

  5. Great pictures of a great trip. Glad that we could be a part of it.
    William


Leave a Reply

Categories

